Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University Technology Business Incubation Center Society (SMVDU TBIC) is established at Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University, Kakrial, Katra and registered with Registrar of Societies, Government of jammu and Kashmir under Societies Registration Act VI of 1998. SMVDU- TBIC is established with the Grant-in-aid from NSTEDB, Department of Science and Technology, Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India and Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University, Katra. SMVDU-TBIC is the first ever Technology Business Incubator in the State of J&K and Himachal Pradesh. SMVDU-TBIC has been identified as one of the sixty eight Incubators to recommend Startups under Startup India Initiative.


To identify potential Entrepreneurs in North India, especially in the State of Jammu-Kashmir, nurture and support innovations, develop technology based ideas into independent self-sustaining business. The Thrust areas are Biotechnology (Microbial, Plant, Medical Genetics and Diagnostics), Engineering (Electronics, Robotics, E-commerce, GSM/GPRS based Technology, Alternative Energy Management) and Business Development. However, the incubator will facilitate any technology based idea with potential to develop into a successful business as well as small scale business with potential to grow into big industry.


Applicants for admission in SMVDU-TBIC will be required to submit online a preliminary Application Form . After initial screening for viability of the applicant as an incubatee, applicant would then be required to submit a business plan to be screened by expert members for assessing the suitability regarding its potential for incubation followed by formal presentation. The committee will confirm admission to the incubator, only after screening of the business plan and presentation (for details please visit this Notifications Page ).


SMVDU - Technology Business Incubation Center


1 Hon'ble Vice Chancellor, SMVDU Chairperson
2 Dean Faculty of Engineering, SMVDU Vice-Chairperson
3 CEO, SMVDSB, Katra Member
4 Secretary S&T Deptt., J&K Govt, Jammu External Member
5 Member Secretary NSTEDB, DST, GOI, New Delhi External Member
6 Registrar, SMVDU, Katra Member
7 Head, School of Business, SMVDU, Katra Member
8 Head, Deptt. Of Electronics & Comm. Engineering, SMVDU, Katra Member
9 Coordinator, SMVDU-TBIC, Katra Invitee
10 CEO/Interim-CEO, SMVDU-TBIC, Katra Member Secretary


1 Prof. Sanjeev Jain, Hon'ble Vice Chancellor, SMVDU, Katra Chairperson
2 Prof. V. Verma, Dean, Faculty of Engineering, SMVDU, Katra Vice-Chairperson
3 Prof. V. K. Bhat, Dean, Faculty of Science, SMVDU, Katra Member
4 Dr. Anil Wali, M.D. FITT, IIT Delhi, New Delhi External Member
5 Er. Yashwant Dev Panwar, Head PFC, TIFAC, MoS&T, New Delhi External Member
6 Dr. Apoorv Ranjan Sharma, Mumbai External Member
7 Prof. V. K. Bhat, Registrar, SMVDU, Katra Member
8 Sh. Romesh Singh, Finance Officer, SMVDU, Katra Member
9 Dr. Ashutosh Vashishtha, Coordinator, SMVDU-TBIC, Katra Member
10 Thrust Area-1 Internal Expert, SMVDU, Katra Special Invitee
11 Thrust Area-2 Internal Expert, SMVDU, Katra Special Invitee
12 Dr. Swarkar Sharma, Interim-CEO SMVDU-TBIC, Katra Member Secretary


Updates available here

Guidelines and Other Documents :

Notifications :


SMVDU-Technology Business Incubation Center